THE INTERN DIARY: the end is near

finish line

I can see the finish line. I officially have two weeks left of my internship and I’m so excited! I’m definitely ready to move onto the next stage and begin my career, that is if I can find a position of interest to me. I’m finding myself looking at agency positions even though I would like to try in-house or corporate PR. Working at an agency is not as bad as I thought it would be and there are a few agencies I would not mind applying to. For now, I’ll continue to make my list of PR professionals I would like to speak to and set up informational interviews.

Today was the end of my work week as I have requested tomorrow off (the agency has given me a few “personal days” and I haven’t used any of them yet). I was extremely busy as I wanted to make sure I wrapped up everything I was working on. I believe I mentioned last week that I was barely given any writing tasks as there wasn’t much writing to do but that was not the case this week. I had four writing tasks this week, which included three media releases, so I spent all day today finishing them up and editing. I am now pleased with the work I’ve done as I have a variety of writing samples to include in my portfolio. I was reading a blog the other day and the writer had said that she was surprised that she had to write quotes for her boss, well I was too when I was asked to include a quote in each media release from the owner of the agency. I originally had asked him for the quote and when I told my supervisor I was waiting on it so I could send it to her, she told me that we usually write it and send it to the person to review. It was not easy trying to write a quote, hoping it sounded real. I kept trying to think of what my boss would actually say.

I feel like I still have so much to do and so little time. I have to start a blogger outreach campaign next week and two weeks is not enough time to wrap it up. I wanted to see it through but I won’t be able to. My agency will definitely let me stay on longer if I need to so I may ask to work “part-time” and work a few days a week.

In the mean time, I will enjoy my long weekend and catch up on my sleep!

Leave a comment